brett//andrew//miotti


(Not so) apt pupil.
4 April, 2009, 4:24 am
Filed under: Lacoste, School, Transit, Uncategorized

Yesterday was a busy day.

It started with a trip to Apt. First order of business: obtain international calling card. This was quite the hilarious venture. Hilarious as in, if you were not me or the older french lady at the cell phone store trying to understand one another, and were merely an observer.

Me: “parlez-vous anglais?”
Lady behind counter: “uhhh a little”
Me: ” I need an international calling card”
Lady: (big ass stream of french that I had no chance in understanding)
Me: (confused) “… No.”
Lady: (more french. again, me not understanding)

Somehow, through a bunch of hand gestures, the words “France,” “USA,” “phone,” and her bringing out a cell phone and offering it to me (to which I shook my head “no,) she finally understood what I wanted. So I purchased their version of a calling card for 15 Euro. After listening to the lady hurriedly explain the instructions in french (while I sort of hesitantly nodded “yes,”) I walked out not entirely sure I had actually accomplished my goal. Hopefully someone on campus can shed some light on the situation. Buying paper for my printmaking class at the local art supply store ended up being a much easier task. We then headed to E Leclerc, which is sort of the french Wal-mart (or so it was explained to us,) where I picked up some bottled water and much needed couch drops.

We got back to Lacoste with just enough time to eat lunch before a group of us took a field trip to a museum of corkscrews. The Graphic Design students are designing a poster for the museum. The winner gets a nice monetary prize. There were corkscrews from all kinds of different countries. The corkscrews themselves came in many different shapes and sizes. Many had little statues or decorations affixed to them. They ranged from really beautiful flourish type decorations to tiny statues of Popeye to very crass, sexual imagery. Many featuring a pair of human legs with a corkscrew between them.

I managed to squeeze in a nap before heading to a gallery opening for visiting artist Rebecca Dautremer. Madame Dautremer is a children’s book illustrator, and an incredible one at that. She tried to tell all of us that she’s not very good at drawing and we all just laughed. Often she will take a finished drawing and scratch it or over print different textures on the image to give the image a warm and “not too clean” feel. For one series she even poured dust onto her scanner before scanning the drawings in. The results were pretty amazing. Many people from the village and surrounding areas came, so the place was packed full.

After dinner, a bunch of us went to Cafe De Sade to have a few drinks. A bunch of younger locals came out and we struck up conversation with them. One local in particular spoke English exceptionally well and informed us this was partly because her mother was American. It was very interesting to compare notes on studies, recreations, politics, etc. I was most pleased to find that, for the most part, people who grow up here don’t get tired of the beautiful view. They are drawn to the bigger cities for the same reasons we are… but the southern countryside is apparently the place to be. They tried to help me learn some french, but I think I was hopeless. I still want to try though… our school is offering lessons here on Tuesdays.

Must eat and lock myself in a room to do homework now.

Photo: This morning’s view of the Luberon – Sunny with gentle clouds afloat. ‘wish you here!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

many have tried the language, fake your way through it. It’s tradition.

I gave up on learning another language. I’ll butcher one.

Comment by Matt

your doing a wonderful job with pictures and stories and I so look forward to every couple of days checking you out and seeing what kind of trouble you’ve gotten into now! Wishing I could see what you do and I get a good laugh too,sometimes.

Comment by mom




Leave a Reply

